CICATS Announces Recipients of M1 Mentoring Awards

As a new and innovative program, the Connecticut Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (CICATS) at UConn has launched the M1 Mentoring Award. The M1 Award is aimed at increasing and sustaining successful research funded faculty to serve as mentors in increasing underrepresented minority students among the pool of academic scientists. Through the M1 Award program, CICATS at UConn will develop a cadre of accomplished investigators who will participate in developing an academic environment that will elevate and reward mentorship at the University and in the region.

CICATS at UConn is excited to announce it has concluded the competition and selected 3 recipients to be awarded a three year M1 Award. The M1 Award recipients are:

Anne M. Delany, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Center for Molecular Medicine, Department of Medicine at UConn Health

Elaine Choung-Hee Lee, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology at UConn Storrs

Syam Nukavarapu, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Orthopaedic Surgery at UConn Health

Each M1 Award recipient will receive $50,000 each, inclusive of 25% protected time for mentoring activities which include mentorship of individual students, participation in the development and execution of various CICATS led mentorship initiatives, and participating in training in the art and science of mentoring minority students. An additional $10,000 will provide for student related activities towards enhancing academic growth such as research training and travel to scientific meetings.

CICATS congratulates the 2014 M1 Mentoring Awardees. We look forward to seeing the outstanding results of their endeavors.